Making the Choice

“You were taught with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.” — Ephesians 4:22-24

How many times have you heard the following words come out of your mouth?

“One of these days, I’m going to…”
“I really ought to…”
“Maybe when ____ is over I’ll get around to…”

I’m afraid they’re like a broken record playing over and over in my head and all too often they come right out my mouth. There’s just so much in my life that needs to change and yet is not getting done.

Unfinished Projects and Needed Change

I have so many projects in my home waiting to be completed. Some have been waiting a long time. Do you have any of those?

Needing to get organized a while back, I bought a beautiful new household binder and started filling it up with notes and planning forms and sheet protectors (because, of course, I wanted it to stay nice). That was…I can’t remember how long ago. I’m not even sure what happened or why I didn’t finish putting it together. And, frankly, I don’t know where that binder is right now. (Sigh.) Needless to say, I still need to get organized.

Then there’s those things that need changing. You know what I’m talking about. Those nagging little monsters like a few extra pounds and pudges around the middle. A closet that’s so chock full of stuff you’re afraid to open the door. The same old drab dinner menus. That crazy schedule!

And changes are not just needed in our physical lives, but our souls also need some transformation work. Maybe we need to spend more time alone with God, praying and studying His Word. Maybe He has revealed something we need to do differently and we’ve yet to take those steps. Maybe we just need to take time to be still and rest in Him.

Ready for Change

God’s Calling Us

Life in Christ is a journey of change. We are called to become more like Him by the power of the Holy Spirit working in us. But we have to be willing to make the effort and work with Him. Ephesians 4:22-24 says: “You were taught with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.”

God’s will is to transform us to be like Him—righteous and holy. Are we working with Him on this or pushing Him away?

Now, not every change has eternal consequences. Household binders and organized closets won’t be found in God’s Word. But they can be used as tools to help us live a life that reflects the character of God and become more like Him. So while they may seem inconsequential, they can be very beneficial.

Make the Choice to Change

I’m guessing, just like me, you have a list rolling around in your head of things you need to change. So, my friends, what’s stopping us?

There are as many reasons as there are projects, I suppose. But the bottom line is: When it’s not thrust upon us, change is a choice.

We don’t change because we choose to leave things as they are.

Life is busy and things get in the way. We’re distracted by…well, everything. But if you’re like me, there’s at least one needed change nagging at you constantly, hanging like a weight around your neck. You’ve not forgotten about it. It’s always right in front of you. But making it happen will take effort. It may make you uncomfortable. It might even be painful. And so, you try to put it out of your mind and do something else.

The result? Life stays the same. Same problem. Same consequences. Same awful nagging.

You know what? I’m tired of the same.

I’m choosing TODAY to make ONE CHANGE.

There are plenty I could make, to be sure. But I can’t take them all on at once. And as I’ve often heard: The way to eat an elephant is one bite at a time.

So, I’m taking one little bite today. I’m going on a hunt for that household binder and finally finish it. And tomorrow I can start living a little more organized.

Found it! Now to put it all together...

Found it! Now to put it all together…

One nagging monster down. A little less weight hanging around my neck.

Will you join me?

What ONE CHANGE will you choose to make TODAY?

Let’s change our words to say…

 “Today is not going to be the same. Today I am going to…”

Grace and peace,
Sabra

Holy Father, we know there are so many things in our lives that need changing. Give us wisdom, Lord, to know what to change today and to take the steps to make that happen. Thank You for promising us strength and grace to succeed and for your transforming work in our lives. May we become ever more like You in righteousness and holiness. In Jesus’ name, Amen.
 
This post is linked up with these wonderful blogs…
Coffee for Your Heart at www.HolleyGerth.com.
Woman2Woman at www.MeredithBernard.com
Click on the link to read more encouragement from other bloggers.
 
Scripture is from New International Version of the Bible, 1984.
Images by Sabra Penley.
18 Comments

Filed under Change, Deny Self, God's Works, New Beginning, Transforming, Work

18 responses to “Making the Choice

  1. Great job Sabra!

    How did you know we say this?

    “One of these days, I’m going to…” “I really ought to…” “Maybe when ____ is over I’ll get around to…”

    Greetings to you and David.

    Stephen & Brooksyne Weber 717-823-0592 Daily Encouragement Net http://www.dailyencouragement.net Daily Encouragement Chaplains http://www.dechaplains.org

    “For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes: first to the Jew, then to the Gentile” (Romans 1:16).

    Like

  2. Dianne Thornton

    Ahhhh … I have a box full of sheet protectors!! I appreciate the reminder to take one bite at a time … baby steps … and to keep moving. I often feel that the less clutter around me, the less clutter in my mind. Thanks, Sabra.

    Like

  3. You want just one?! 😉 I always have so many things I’d like to change. This week though I’m focused on being available for God to use me as he would like. In bible study this week we talked about all the ways Jesus helped people. He was never rushed, he just always looked for what the needs around him were and put the needs of others in front of his own. I am focused on doing that and it sure gives me perspective on what is important versus what I place importance on!

    Like

    • What a great example we have to follow in Jesus. This is a super thing to focus on. I am always needing to take time to see needs and help meet them. Oh, to never be rushed! Praying that you will be victorious in this. Thanks, Tracy.

      Like

  4. Oh you’re reminding me I need to get back to de-cluttering my desk. I had it looking so nice a neat for about 3 days 3 weeks ago. Thought I’d turned over a new leaf, but I fell back into old ways too quickly!

    Like

  5. Great encouragement, now to sort through the tub of Sunday School papers that has been staring at me for 2 weeks. 🙂 Found you over at Holley’s link up.

    Like

  6. One thing I started last week is to read a verse of the day with YouVersion. I want to be able to meditate on it, and it is going to take time to remember to do it. We have to start a practice a day at a time!

    Like

    • Hi, Sarah. I’ve not heard of YouVersion. I’ll have to check it out. Getting started with something new is exciting, but I find it is always a challenge to keep it going. “Start a practice a day at a time.” I like that. Praying the Lord will bless your desire to be in His Word every day and make it a part of your everyday life.

      Like

  7. One change I’m going to make is more exercise, starting this week. I have so much more energy when I make the time for it. There is so much truth here, Sabra. To things to change, we have to change. We can expect change to just happen on its own. Thanks so much for this reminder!

    Like

  8. Once again, your blog post spoke to me! I’m glad you found your binder! A little over a week ago, I brushed the dust off a calendar I had made in February. I revised it, and now I’m trying to turn the routines into habit. Already, I’ve been able to start making good progress on a project that’s important to me but that I had kept putting off. Your post encourages me to keep at it — one step at a time!

    Like

    • Congratulations, Deborah, for getting out your calendar and making the change. It is hard. Sounds like we’re in this together–turning the routines into habit–one step at a time. Blessings to you!

      Like

Leave a comment here...

