Cheering for You!

“And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds. Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another–and all the more as you see the Day approaching.” — Hebrews 10:24-25

 

My friend Meredith called me a great cheerleader the other day. It made me laugh.

You see, in high school, the cheerleaders were the popular girls. The ones who could do splits and flips and jumps. The ones who seemed to have rhythm in their every move–who always looked so cute in their little purple and white uniforms and pony tails. They were the ones the guys always paid attention to, and they were always front and center.

Next to the cheerleaders I felt small and insignificant. They were the ones most teenage girls compared themselves to…and silently wished they were.

I’ve never been able to do splits or flips or jumps. And I’m more known for klutziness than rhythm. You’d never find me in one of those little uniforms (not then, and especially not now). Staying in the background is my comfort zone, and that’s often where I’ll be.

Me…a cheerleader?

I knew Meredith didn’t mean that kind of cheerleader. But the thought was funny nonetheless.

Thumbs Up

Thinking more about it, Hebrews 10:24-25 came to mind. For indeed, we are all called to be cheerleaders…to encourage one another in our walk with the Lord.

Hebrews1024

We as believers are to support each other as we tackle the difficulties of this life and the work God has for us to do. Sometimes we cheer each other on from the sidelines, and sometimes we encourage one another in the middle of the action ourselves.

We need each other. We’re all in this together. We’re a team.

100_6176So, yes, I’ll pick up my pom-poms and cheer on my brothers and sisters as we fight against our opponent in this world and seek to be victorious for the Lord.

But I won’t just cheer. I’ll put on the player’s uniform as well and get out there and fight the good fight myself. Only then can I know how best to cheer the players on and encourage those in the stands to do their part.

MarkandCindy

Sometimes I’ll be on the field and need encouragement. Sometimes I’ll be on the sidelines, cheering you on. And other times I’ll be in the locker room getting instruction and motivation from the Coach. But no matter where I am, my heart will be for our team—Jesus’ team!

Prayer CircleI’ll not be timid, sitting in the stands all alone, not paying any attention to what’s going on in the game. I’ll be a part of it–in whatever way, at whatever time–player, learner, cheerleader. All for His victory and glory!

So my fellow cheerleaders, are you ready for action? Let’s pick up our pom-poms, put on our uniforms, and get busy encouraging one another to live for the glory of the Lord.

Heavenly Father, thank You that we don’t have to fight this fight alone. You are with us always. And we have each other. Help us to be supportive, to cheer each other on and do our part as we press on to bring You glory. In Jesus’ name, Amen.
 

Cheering for you today!
Sabra

Scripture from The Holy Bible, New International Version, 1984.
Images by Sabra Penley

A BIG THANKS to my sweet brothers and sisters at Lamar Baptist Church in Arlington, TX for their patience with my picture-taking. They were so kind to hang around after choir. Not all the pictures were blog-worthy or needed. So, here are some of the others. (Photography is definitely something I need to work on!)…

DSCF0053DSCF0054DSCF0055DSCF0056DSCF0057

8 Comments

Filed under Blessing, Encouragement, Friendship, Relationships

8 responses to “Cheering for You!

  1. We cheer you on, dear friend, in this marvelous writing ministry. I was never cheerleader at school either, but sure have had years of cheering others on in the name of Christ. Isn’t it a privilege far greater than any high school can offer. Enjoyed your photos as well of the good people from the church!

    Like

  2. Wonderful post, Sabra, and a great reminder to encourage and cheer for one another!

    Like

  3. kristine

    Awe, I love the pictures! They capture such sweet joy in the faces of your friends! One day I’m going to venture over your direction and we can encourage one another over a cup of coffee:) Thanks Sabra!

    Like

  4. Oh my word, I am smiling so big, Sabra! This is a beautiful post and these pictures are awesome! I am right there with you… Much happier in the background and never was a cheerleader or aspired to be. It’s really a hoot that you and I feel so called and compelled to encourage others at this point our lives, then, huh? That’s how God works. He is working in you and through you in so many beautiful ways. I’m so blessed to be on the receiving end of your cheers! Thankful for you…xoxo and keep taking those pictures… You’re doing great! Looks like a very fun choir. 😃

    Like

    • Thanks for your inspiration for the post (you actually made that statement several months ago and I started this post back then). I am so amazed that God can work through us the ways He does! You have been a big part of this writing journey, Meredith. Thanks for your encouragement. And, yes…it is a very fun choir!

      Like

Leave a comment here...

