When You Want to Give Up

Hey, friend.

Do you ever feel like giving up? Like you have given it all you’ve got and you just can’t go on?

I was there Tuesday morning. Stepping onto the elliptical machine, I had finally decided to take control of my body’s inflating fat cells and lack of energy. I was pumped…ready to go. But the dim light over the machine kept my aging eyes from seeing the control panel well. I could just make out INTERVAL. So I punched that button and took whatever workout was previously programmed. (Hey, I figured I could handle it.)

Elliptical

I was going great that first minute. Then…whoa. Suddenly it was like trying to trudge through a pool of mud. I had entered the work interval. And to my utter dismay, I saw it was going to last seven minutes. Seven minutes!

C’mon, Sabra. You can do it. I did my best to cheer myself on. But each and every step was growing more difficult and my muscles started screaming. Watching that timer only made me more aware of my weakness. Just two more minutes…keep going. I put more effort into my arms to ease the pain in my legs. And just when I thought they’d give out, the blessed rest interval rescued me. But it didn’t feel like much of a rest. Just slightly less work. And when the next work interval reared its ugly head a mere two minutes later, the thought of having to endure it again was overwhelming. I just wanted to give up.

No way, Sabra. It took you too long to finally get on this machine. You can’t stop now.

So I kept going and tried to focus on why I was there—to make my body healthy and fit. Knowing I had to keep moving in order to reach my goal and realizing I wouldn’t make it without help, I started praying. I needed more than my strength to keep me going. I needed God’s.

Philippians 4:13 popped into my head: I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.”

And I prayed more. Lord, help me keep going. Give me strength for each step. Get me through this. I’m so weak. I need You.

Does this struggle sound familiar? How often does the same scenario take place in your life?  Trouble comes and you go on for a while okay. But then the difficulty kicks up a notch or two or a hundred, and you become overwhelmed. You feel you can’t go on, and you want to give up.

When you want to give up, give it to God.

Isaiah40.31

God promises to supply you with strength to keep going, one step at a time. And those steps, one by one, will get you where you need to go.

He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. – Isaiah 40:29-31

God takes our efforts, no matter how weak, and adds His strength to bring about His purposes. By trusting in the Lord to supply all our needs, we grow stronger in our relationship with Him and in faith to depend on Him the next time troubles trample us.

Hopefully with each struggle we face, we will more readily go to God, seek His wisdom, and rely on His strength to attack the problem head-on. The quicker we do this, the greater the possibility we won’t cave under pressure.

The Lord will help us not give in, not lose hope, not give up. He will keep us from crumbling when the pressure gets too great and seems it will never end.

Giving it up to God—letting go of trying to do it all on our own—allows God to do what He does best. He works by His strength, through our weakness, and lets His glory shine.

God kept me going on that elliptical machine. After twenty-five minutes, my wobbly legs stepped off…victoriously. They were worn out, but my soul was doing a victory dance! God supplied the strength I needed to go each step of the way. And I know tomorrow when I start all over again, He’ll be there. I just need to remember that!

Heavenly Father, thank You that we don’t have to face struggles on our own. Help us to turn to You for strength to overcome every difficulty. Keep us from giving up. Help us to persevere and trust in Your provision for all we need to be victorious. May Your glory shine through Your work in us. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

May you be strong through His strength today!

Blessings,
Sabra
 
 

Other Scripture on God’s Strength and Provision:

Psalm 28:7 – The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song.

Habakkuk 3:19 – The Sovereign Lord is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights. 

2 Corinthians 9:8 – And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.

 

All Scripture from New International Version of the Bible, 1984.
Images by Sabra Penley.

 

14 Comments

Filed under God's Works, Hope, Overwhelmed, Prayer, Strength, Success

14 responses to “When You Want to Give Up

  1. Wonderful message, Sabra, that all readers identify with including me! Let’s eep on keeping on physically for our health and spiritually for the ultimate prize of seeing our Saviour and Lord Jesus Christ and dwelling with Him forever. Blessings! Brooksyne Weber

    Like

  2. Great post Sabra. And oh how I can relate to having to get myself on the dreaded elliptical. And this is a huge lesson I am learning this year. So often in life, I hesitate on things thinking to myself, I can’t do that! But oh how God has reminded me I am not doing alone. He is with me, his power, his strength, his grace. There are many things I cannot do, but He can! What a relief it is to realize I do not need to rely on my own strength. 🙂

    Like

    • Yep, this is a lesson I’m having to learn over and over. You’d think one of these times it would stick. So thankful for God’s strength. Blessings to you, Tracy.

      Like

  3. God takes our efforts, no matter how weak, and adds his strength to fulfill his purposes. That is the best truth I’ve heard in a while. Thank you, Sabra. I want to memorize that. And I’m proud of your accomplishments…with His strength. I need to remember that the next time I avoid my workout. As I did this morning. :-/ Love you, Mereditg

    Like

  4. Kathryn Shirey

    I feel this more often than I like to admit, but love the truth that even if I can only give a little bit of my own, He can add enough to make it sufficient. So, on the days I wonder why I’ve stepped so far out or want to retreat to more comfortable places, I need to remember to keep giving even a little and let God supply the rest. Thanks for this post!

    Like

    • Sometimes knowing God’s strength is available is the only thing that keeps me going. Give “even a little and let God supply the rest.” Love it! Thanks, Kathryn. Blessings to you!

      Like

  5. kristine

    Great post, Sabra! Love the title, too. It totally drew me in. I thought, “Hey, I feel like giving up, so I better read this!” As always, God is right on time with just the right Word. Thank you!

    Like

  6. Julie Lefebure

    Sabra, great and encouraging post! I was right with you through the legs screaming, counting down the two minutes, praying for God’s strength and even the wobbly legs stepping off the machine. Great job in capturing the details and making them relevant to all who may feel like throwing in the towel! Great job on that victory too. Keep up the wonderful work…in your workouts and your writing! Hugs!

    Like

  7. Oh yes, I needed this message today. Thank you, Sabra. Your words are an encouragement to my soul and God is using you to speak the truth that I needed to hear. And I need to get back on that elliptical! 😉

    Like

Leave a comment here...

