Simply. Fun. – Road Trip!

This post is about enjoying life. That's what Simply. Fun. posts
are all about. No careful writing. No great biblical insight. Just 
sharing the fun things in life.

“So I commend the enjoyment of life, because nothing is better for a man under the sun than to eat and drink and be glad. Then joy will accompany him in his work all the days of the life God has given him under the sun.” – Ecclesiastes 8:15

 

It’s been a whole year since we left town to go anywhere overnight. As we used to travel several times a year, my hubby was ready to go…anywhere! Our destination this time: San Antonio, to meet some sweet friends.

Road trips have always been enjoyable for us. We have special things we like to do along the way: listening to the radio, looking for photo ops and snapping a pic or two, planning ahead for the best place to eat, searching for some fudge, and timing our stops to include points of interest. And we’re always on the lookout for a Dairy Queen (as Blizzards are, regrettably, a favorite).

100_5731We love taking the back roads and seeing the sights, keeping an eye out for wildflowers and wildlife (which is pretty important or wildlife can turn into road kill pretty fast). And as I love taking photos, taking the road less traveled allows me to pull over, snap a few, and then quickly jump back in the car. That just can’t be done well on the interstate. So back roads were the way to go for this trip.

Transfer from 2007 Laptop 153Always in the past, David has been our driver and I’ve been the navigator. But now, because of my husband’s disability, he can’t drive. That leaves me to sit in the driver’s seat. I’ve driven plenty, but it isn’t my preferred spot in the car. I like riding shotgun. Being the sidekick. Taking a nap. I can’t take a nap when I drive, so now I drink lots of coffee. And then I have to stop more often. (Sorry…TMI.)

100_5752

Picture-taking is always on my mind when we travel. It isn’t as easy watching for the perfect shot when I’m watching the road. But, I did manage to find a few.

100_5748Why is it that when a there is a beautiful landscape just waiting to be photographed, there is absolutely no place along the highway to safely pull over and take a photo? I long for a stunning vista, the sunlight and shadow to fall just so, the animals to be near the fence or wildflowers that take your breath away. And then I see it—the perfect picture. Unfortunately, I’m doing 75 in a 75 and the shoulder is only 3 feet wide. Not one single drive or turn-off in sight. A then it’s gone. Like the proverbial big fish that got away.

100_5945And then there’s country music. Now, we may live in Texas, but we don’t usually listen to country music on the radio. We stay on the Christian music station most of the time. But when we’re out on the open road, we take whatever we can get. And in Texas, that’s country. Since we don’t listen to these songs much, it’s always interesting to listen to the lyrics. You can learn a lot from country songs. Like guys best not mess with country girls. They don’t take kindly to bein’ cheated on. Country boys apparently only drink two things: sweet tea and beer. And if they drink enough of the latter, all their troubles seem to disappear.

100_5955I have to say we were glad we made it to church Sunday morning to be fed some true theology. Otherwise, all we would have been fed was: “God is great. Beer is good. And people are crazy.”*

If we’re gone from home on Sunday we always make it a point to visit a church. This time we were blessed to hear Max Lucado speak in his home church during a wonderful worship service where they baptized…I don’t know…maybe 30-40 people? What a special day to visit!

Transfer from 2007 Laptop 145We stopped in Fredericksburg, a sweet little German heritage town, and walked around historic Main Street. Eclectic shops. Mild temperature. Sunshine. Soft breeze. Prime parking spot. Fudge. What’s not to love?

100_5944Dinner was a stop at a Dairy Queen for a delicious (if not so nutritious) Blizzard while sitting by the creek.

100_5951Two days of traveling the open road. And another item on the bucket list was checked off for the year.

100_5959Road trip.

A blessed weekend. Full of treasures. Full of friends. Full of joy. Full of love.

A precious gift indeed!

Have you been on a road trip lately? If not, do you have a bucket list for this year? Why don’t you tell us about it in the comments below?

Blessings to you,
Sabra

 

* Lyrics from "People Are Crazy" by Billy Currington.

Scripture from New International Version of the Bible, 1984.
All photos by Sabra Penley.
12 Comments

Filed under Bucket List, Enjoy Life, Family Time, Fun, Joy

12 responses to “Simply. Fun. – Road Trip!

  1. Beautiful photos! Some of my favorite scenes of Texas 🙂 I told my kids we’re going to make a bucket list for the summer, so we can be intentional about having fun family time and experiencing the joys of summer.

    Like

  2. Love this Sabra. I went to San Antonio with a girlfriend last year and had a great and restful weekend. Was really laughing about the country lyrics as I listen to both Christian and country music. Never really considered how different these two genres are! 🙂 Glad you have a fun weekend away. It’s the little things, flowers, open fields, a gentle landscape that bring me joy as well.

    Like

  3. kristine

    I had a few things on my bucket list for summer, but then we decided to throw that all aside and do nothing! I guess you could say that we are hoping for an ’empty bucket’ and plenty of quiet time. Ahhh, I’m getting excited just thinking about it!

    Like

  4. Sabra, this is such a beautiful post. I love how you shared about your trip through words AND photos! So happy you had a wonderful weekend away! Our plan this summer is to drive to Florida in a month. We did it last year, and it was such a perfect trip. And of course my bike ride across Iowa this year with my husband. I’ll take plenty of pics on that trip! Thanks for sharing your weekend!

    Like

  5. Oh Sabra, reading about your trip and seeing your pictures made me homesick, but I’ll be there in just one week! I love Fredericksburg. What a fun trip for you and your husband.

    Like

Leave a comment here...

