Would He Marry You Again?

(Hi, friends. Today’s passage from God’s Word is once again about the excellent wife. So it is to all of you women who are married I address this post. But I pray the truths revealed might bless everyone.)
 
 

 The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will not lack anything good. She rewards him with good, not evil, all the days of her life (Proverbs 31:11-12).

Why did you marry your husband? Or an even better question is: Why did he marry you? Why did he choose you, above all others, to be his life’s companion?

Couple holding hands

I’ve thought about this the last few days as I read the verse above and wondered just what these verses mean. I like how the New Living Translation puts it: “Her husband can trust her and she will greatly enrich his life.” Wow.

Could that be said about me? Could it be said about you?

What do you think your husband would say about that? Do you think he might say there is something missing in his life…in his relationship with you?

As I pondered this question myself, I thought about what I want from my husband…what I hope to have from him as his bride. See if this list matches yours:

    • To be loved
    • To feel as if I am the most important person in the world to him
    • To be held in his heart as his one and only sweetheart
    • To be appreciated
    • To be trusted
    • To be respected
    • To be his best friend
    • To have a partner in raising our children
    • To know I am valued in his eyes as priceless
    • To spend time with him to talk, to share, to enjoy
    • To be comforted and feel secure
    • For him to encourage and support my walk with the Lord

Your list may not be exactly like mine. But I’m guessing it is pretty close.

Now, go back and read the list again. This time, however, read it as the things your husband hopes to have from you. Go through each one and ask yourself if you are fulfilling that need well.  Is anything missing? Anything lacking?

8753948138_28d436a93f_z

Proverbs 31:12 says, “She rewards him with good, not evil, all the days of her life.”

ALL the days…the good, the average and the just plain hard.

It’s pretty easy on the good and average days. But what about those hard days?

The days when you don’t feel very well…or you’re just plain tired…or the kids are out of control?

The days when your hormones are raging…you feel like you might burst into tears at any moment…and you feel bloated and gross?

The days when there’s not enough time and not enough money and not enough energy?

The days when you just want to be left alone?

The days when you want your man right beside you, but he has to be somewhere else…or he chooses to be somewhere else?

EVEN on those days, the excellent wife does her husband good and not harm.

HOW can this be done? Through CHRIST alone!

My life must be so consumed with the Spirit of Christ that everything I do is blessed with His fruit. Only then can my home and heart be filled with the wonderful aroma of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Only then will my husband trust that when he walks through the door he will be met by his beloved sweetheart and welcomed with open arms.

heartandhome

Am I this kind of wife? This kind of sweetheart that my husband desired when he asked me to marry him? Are my thoughts, words, and actions showing him a heart of love and rewarding him with good, not harm every single day?

I long to be that excellent wife—that treasured jewel. And I bet you do, too. Let’s strive to be the kind of loving wives that would make our husbands say they’d marry us all over again…because it’s just that good.

Lord, please help us. We need You.

Blessings,
Sabra

 

This post has been linked up with other friends at 
www.TimeWarpWife.com 
Scripture from Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB) and New Living Translation.
Images: Couple holding hands by Search Influence via flickr (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0) Hanging Basket by Julie Falk via flickr (CC BY-NC 2.0) Porch by Sonja Lovas via flickr (CC BY 2.0)
12 Comments

Filed under Doing Good, Love, Marriage, Trust, Wife, Woman-to-Woman

12 responses to “Would He Marry You Again?

  1. Yes, through Christ alone! That is the only way I can be the type of wife described here, and I know there will still be days I fail. Your list really spot on. Wonderful post!

    Like

    • Through Christ alone. Indeed. I fail every day in so many ways. But I pray I will move just a little closer to the likeness of Christ each day. Thanks for your comments, Abby.

      Like

  2. These words both encourage me and convict me in the same breath. And I need both today. Thank you for laying this out so beautifully. Even on the hard days I’m called to love my husband. Even when I really don’t know how or want to try. That’s real, raw, truth. And so is God’s word. Real. Raw. Truth. Thank you from the bottom of my tear stained heart tonight, sweet, sweet friend…xoxo, Meredith

    Like

    • God’s truth is so convicting! It happens every single time I write a post. I always think I know what I’m going to say, and then the Lord throws something my way I wasn’t expecting. So thankful for His guiding hand and enabling power that moves us to be more like Him. Blessings to you, friend!

      Like

  3. Julie Lefebure

    This is beautiful, Sabra! I want my husband to say he’d marry me all over again. Thank you for this Christ-centered perspective on marriage and on our roles as wives. Such beauty in your words of truth!

    Like

  4. Sabra, I LOVE your list exercise. Making the list of what you’d like from your husband and then turning the tables. So eye-opening! Thanks for the encouragement.

    Like

  5. Thank you, Sabra, for this message! It seriously is a message to not be complacent in marriage!

    Like

  6. This is such a great reminder for us all. It’s easy to do these things on some of the days, but to do so on ALL of our days, this definitely takes the help and power of the Spirit! 🙂 As you know I just recently went through a very hard time. My husband’s support was invaluable, such a blessing to me. I only hope I can be as strong, loving and supportive for him on his worst of days!

    Like

Leave a comment here...

