An Excellent Wife – A Woman’s Perspective

An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels. (Proverbs 31:10)

Do any other wives out there read Proverbs 31 and feel just a bit lacking in the “more precious than jewels” department?

I strive to be an excellent wife. That is my goal. And my sweet husband tells me that I am. But I compare myself to all this excellent wife does, and in my estimation I come up way short.

I realize this passage speaks of an ideal wife–the wife God created me to be. And I am flawed…very flawed in some areas. I have much to learn to become like this woman.

But one thing I know to be true: My value is not in what I do or don’t do, my value is in whose I am. And I belong to the Lord.

6468578967_2a1ae8490e_z

The value of a precious jewel is determined by many factors. The most valuable gems are durable, able to withstand a lot of pressure and not easily broken. They are pure, without imperfections. Their transparency allows for light to shine through and be reflected back out in brilliance. A large size is preferred. And most, importantly, they are authentic. These jewels are rare things of beauty.

As I think about precious jewels and these characteristics, I realize that these qualities are found in us when we walk closely with the Lord. As Proverbs 31:30 says, “…a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.”

2372131488_46aa606aeb_z

What are these jewel-like qualities of an excellent wife?

  • She has strength. As she places her life in the hands of the Lord, His Spirit fills her with strength to withstand whatever troubles come her way.
  • She is pure. She strives to live a righteous and holy life. And in the eyes of the God she is pure with the righteousness of Christ.
  • She is transparent. She allows others to know her weaknesses and in doing so God’s glory shines through her life.
  • She is large. (No, not in the physical sense.) She is large in heart and spirit, showing love to all.
  • She is authentic. She doesn’t pretend to love the Lord and her husband. She lives out that love every single day.

Without the Lord, I cannot be an excellent wife. Without the Lord, my value is not rare and precious. But God the Creator fashioned me after His own image.

I have a lot of rough edges and hard stuff that needs to be knocked off of my soul. But when I place my life in the hands of the Master Craftsman and allow him to cut and shape and polish me into His likeness, I am a rare and precious work of art.

3003380784_580cf7dfec_z

As wives, we shine forth with God’s glory as we humbly submit to Him in our marriages. As we help our husbands, support them, love them, respect them, and submit to them, we follow Christ’s example and become more beautiful with His beauty.

Let’s strive to live each day in faithful obedience to our heavenly Father that He might shape us into His likeness and we might become this most cherished of treasure for our husbands…that God’s glory may shine with His brilliance!

O Lord God, may I fear you all the days of my life. May I honor You with everything I do that I might become the excellent wife You have called me to be. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

This post has been linked up with Woman-to-Woman on 
www.4Hisgloryblog.com.For more posts on Proverbs 31,
just click on the link.
All Scripture from English Standard Version.
Images:
Hand in Hand by Jeremy Brooks via flickr (CC BY-NC 2.0)
Rings by ilovebutter via flickr (CC BY 2.0)
heart ring light by MorrowLess via flickr (CC BY-SA 2.0), 
   black/white filter added
4 Comments

Filed under Love, Marriage, Sacrifice, Thankfulness, Wife, Woman-to-Woman

4 responses to “An Excellent Wife – A Woman’s Perspective

  1. Sabra, there are so many good truths here I can’t put them all in my comments. Great insight from this one verse! This, “Their transparency allows for light to shine through and be reflected back out in brilliance.” I love that thought. That as God’s treasure and Him living in us, we reveal Him to others in a more brilliant way than we could ever do alone. And your list of truths comparing women to jewels…beautiful. Thank you for linking up today and for your encouragement. Always truth conveyed in a beautiful way. Blessings! Now on to read your husbands view…can’t wait! 😀

    Like

    • Isn’t it amazing how God’s glory is evident through His creation? And the fact that He gives us the ability to recognize it–wow! Every single day I am in awe of our God! Thank you for your sweet encouragement, Meredith. Blessings to you today!

      Like

  2. Sabra, this is absolutely beautiful! I love your words of beauty and truth for us wives… full of encouragement and love! I appreciated how you highlighted the jewel-like qualities of an excellent wife. Those are something I could pray over and over for my role as wife. You truly are a gifted writer!

    Like

    • Thank you, Julie. I need the constant reminder that how I serve as a wife reflects what’s inside my heart. I pray that what is reflected is Christ. Blessings to you!

      Like

Leave a comment here...

