A Simply. Challenge — Remember

“I remember the days of long ago; I meditate on all your works and consider what your hands have done.”                                         — Psalm 143:5

The week following Christmas has always been, for me, a week of looking forward to the new year. I start the process of making plans that will begin on January 1, which usually entails choosing a few areas of my life that need improvement and setting goals—the proverbial New Year’s resolutions.

It has not been my typical practice, however, to reflect over the past twelve months. I’m not sure why. It seems like a logical thing to do. To look back and take an accounting of things done well, areas where improvement is needed, to see lessons learned, and how God has been working in our lives can help as we make plans for the coming year.

It also seems to be a biblical thing to do. Psalm 143:5 says: I remember the days of long ago; I meditate on all your works and consider what your hands have done.”

The Lord wants us to remember what has happened this year, how He has worked in our lives, and what lessons we have learned in the process. To remember…and not forget.

Psalm 92.5

As I look back over 2013, it could be labeled the hardest year of my life. My husband’s life-threatening illness which began in January left us reeling for a while, and much in our life has changed from what it was a year before. It has been a trying time…a growing time…a time of great revelation. And I don’t want to forget any of it.

We have been given many blessings, beautiful gifts from the Lord. God was faithful to His promises and worked in wonderful ways. There are far too many to share with you at once, and I imagine that they will crop up a little at a time in days to come. For now, I am compiling a list of the top 10 lessons learned in 2013 and, Lord willing, will post that on Tuesday, New Year’s Eve.

So here is a Simply. Challenge:

Will you join me in reflecting on this past year? Prayerfully take time to examine what God has done for you and remember lessons you have learned that will help as you move forward into the coming year. And I invite you to return on Tuesday (New Year’s Eve) and share something you have learned with us. I’ll be sharing my top 10 lessons, and would love to hear how God has worked in your life as well.

Dear Lord, we thank You for Your faithfulness and provision in our lives throughout this year. As we move toward a new one, we ask that You will help us remember all Your works and consider what Your hands have done. May these truths compel us to seek You and follow Your plan each day in 2014. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Blessings to you all!

Photo: Steens Mountain CMPA by Bureau of Land Management, licensed by CC BY 2.0, text added

Scripture from New International Version, 1984

6 Comments

Filed under End of Year, God's Works, Reflect, Remember

6 responses to “A Simply. Challenge — Remember

  1. mary hpoyes

    Sabra, you definitely have a gift for writing…..I would always look ahead as we enter the new year,,,not thinking of looking back. I certainly have many blessings to look back on , I’m thankful to be alive,,i was about 1 second from a tree hitting me instead of my car…..thank you for reminding me to remember…

    Like

  2. Charles Nestor

    Sabra,
    It is so consoling to know that God is an ever present help in the life experiences that sometimes leave us ‘reeling’ in our human understanding. The constant wonder is that each experience leaves us growing in our relationship to God.
    Blessings to you and your family for 2014.
    Charles Nestor

    Like

  3. Thanks Sabra or reminding me. I always review my prayer journal from the previous year and reflect on how God has worked in our lives. Because of my husband’s recent surgery (and now second surgery first week of January) my usual pattern of reflection has not taken place. But I am encouraged to pick it up again.

    Like

Leave a comment here...

